Is the fashion industry totally out of their minds?

Standard

The reason I ask this may not be obvious. It’s not about the cut or color of the clothes at all. If people want to dress in skimpy clothes, that is their right. Just as it is my right not to buy something that I wouldn’t be comfortable in. The reason for my question is size.

What, precisely, do I mean by that? It’s simple, a woman’s size 8 today is not the same as a size 8 of a decade ago. Don’t believe me? Use a clothier’s tape measure and double check.

I have a pair of size eight jeans that I wore a decade ago and for the hell of it I tried them on. Low and behold they still fit. I held those same pair of pants up to the ones that I wear now and they were the exact same in width and length.

Yet if I were to go and buy a new pair of pants today I would have to buy a size 14 or 16 depending on the brand. Why is it, that something that I wore ten years ago when I was 25lbs lighter still fits me today? Why do I have to buy double the size to get the same fit?

This matter doesn’t just affect me, it affects all people no matter their shape or size. Just because the fashion industry feels they can change the way that they make clothes does not give them the right to ridicule or shame us. Design labels do not have the right to call any man or woman plus sized, regardless of what the scale says. Anyone who is a healthy weight should not be made to feel ashamed that they are a certain size. All of our bodies are different, none are the same.

I think it’s time to wake up industry experts. You need to start basing your clothes on people who live real lives and not the stick thin figures in Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

