Hi All…

Standard

I came across another writing prompt. This one is a little more open ended then the others have been. Tell me what do you think of this one? BTW, fiction cookies for those of you that recognize the qoute at the end! 🙂 As always Happy Reading!

 

“What the hell,” I shouted as a foreign noise woke me. As I surprised my kitten, Amaya, she let out a low snarl. That revving motor and the smell of freshly cut, damp grass were beginning to turn my world on its axis once more. For what seemed to forever, silence had ruled supreme on my planet.

Roughly three months ago the world around me had gone silent and dark. I had woken up close to noon and not a single soul could be found. For some reason I was left behind to witness the collapse of our once peaceful planet.

Since that day I had watched graceful spiral towers of gleaming metal collapse from windstorms. Marble mansions were no match for the fires that consumed them. The only company I had through this silent, nightmarish ordeal was that of my Bengal kitten, Amaya.

On that tense first day of silence I found Amaya in the rubble of the zoo. Amaya’s spotted tan and black fur was in stark contrast to the stone grey walls that she was surrounded by. She was the only animal there. From that day on we had been constant companions.

During the day we would fish and gather greens for food. Amaya had helped greatly when it came time to collect fire wood to keep us warm. In the evenings after we ate our fill of fish stew Amaya would hop up on my little bed and snuggle next to me. Her warmth had kept me toasty and cozy on the cool nights.

Now something was beginning to change again. I cautiously crawled out from under my covers to peer out the bedroom wind. Amaya quickly took my recently vacated spot as she went back to sleep. There was another living soul here! How was this possible? Better yet, where did he come from?

Deciding to take a risk I pulled on my fuzzy duck slippers and tattered robe. The robe was in no better shape than the sweat pants and shirt that I slept in, but any modesty was better than none. As I made my way to the back door I was grateful for the cardboard that covered the broken window panes. Carefully I pulled the back door open, praying it wouldn’t creak and alert whoever was cutting the grass.

I slowly walked down the rickety wooden stairs of my back porch and timidly approached the mower. When I reached the old property line I stopped and waited for the man to turn his mower off and acknowledge me. As a child I had learned never to interrupt or approach someone using power equipment.

After that fateful, silent day I never thought that I would have to use lessons from my youth.

It took almost a half hour for the man to look up from his task and wave at me with a cheery smile. I felt my face pale with shock as I recognized the mowing man. It was old man Thorne Crestingwaters. As a child I remember him winning contests for his flowerbeds. His yard had always been a lush green that he mowed in flower shapes. Seeing how overgrown his beds were Thorne had to be upset.

With a beaming smile on his face Thorne walked up cheerfully greeting, “Hello, Ivy! It’s been a while, hasn’t it?”

As I stared at Thorne in confusion my emotions must have shown on my face. I closed my eyes and took a couple of deep breaths before asking, “Where’d you go? What’s going on,” I asked anxiously.

Mr. Crestingwaters gave me a funny look before informing me, “I don’t know what you’re talking about, Ivy. We’ve been looking for you for months now.”

I shook my head vigorously in denial. This wasn’t right. “Mr. Crestingwaters, I’ve been here the whole time. The entire city has been silent. I tried turning on the television only to find out that they whole world was gone. No other people were around, as for animals the only one I could find was my kitten, Amaya.

“In the last three months buildings have crumbled and glass windows have blown out. Lawns have become overgrown beds of weeds and vines,” I finished hysterically.

Mr. Crestingwaters cocked his head as he tried to calm me, “Ivy it’s all right.”

“No, it’s not! Yours is the first motor I have heard in three months! Look around you Mr. Crestingwaters!”

I could tell Mr. Crestingwaters was starting to believe me when he looked at the lawns surrounding his. The only one that looked halfway decent was mine. The only reason it was well trimmed is because I used the old push mower in my garage to keep it that way.

When people had first disappeared I found that I couldn’t handle the noise of machines very well. Every time I would try to start the gas mower I started to shake and convulse. I’m not the type who can live in a jungle wasteland so I pulled out the push mower and had taken care of the yard that way ever since. It had proven to be a very therapeutic action for me. My panic attacks lessened every time I mowed.

I watched as Mr. Crestingwaters face went from confusion to horrorified. “This doesn’t make sense. I just saw Hollis and Agave this morning!” Mr. Crestingwaters had the most adorable grandchildren.

As Mr. Crestingwaters began to panic I saw a lightning bolt split the sky in two. Before I could think to jump a deep rumbling clap of thunder roared through our little valley. As surprising as the thunder and lightning were, what followed next was even more so.

For the first time in months the streets and sidewalks were crammed full of people old and young! All of them looking disoriented and scared. Within moments a baby started to wail. That small child let off a screech that set off a symphony of noise the world over.

As I stood there in amazement I felt a soft nudge on my calf. I looked down to see the spotted furry form of Amaya. Even though I was shaking I bent down to pick her up. This many people was bound to frighten her – it did me.

As the noise from the crowd rose I slowly pet Amaya and said, “Amaya, I’ve a feeling we’re not alone anymore.”

Leave a Reply

